Projectile Mechanics

From Ephimoria Wiki

Projectile Standards V.1.3


Disclaimer: The Projectile Standard system is intended to be used during player versus player combat. This system does not apply to events. While it may be used during events, use of this system is up to DM discretion, and is not required.



OVERVIEW Any projectile, be it a spell, arrow, ballista, etc. must be aimed at a target. In order to achieve this aim, one must declare where they are aiming on a person or target, and then make a roll. The roll must be at or above the DC for the location being aimed at in order to hit.


When using any form of projectile, a roll must be undertaken to see whether or not the projectile hits or hits the desired target.



DECLARING TARGETS

There are two approaches that can be taken when working with projectiles. Both require a roll to be taken as detailed below:


Not-Declaring a Target: In this method, the player does not declare a target but instead fires or releases the projectile at their target and they hope that they hit a critical point in the body. The player rolls a 1d20 and whatever they roll in relation to the list below will be where they hit their target. In order to hit a headshot, a Natural 20 must be achieved E.G. I choose not to declare a target and fire at my opponent, I roll a 1d20 and achieve a 17, therefore I hit them in the bicep. E.G. I choose not to declare a target and fire at my opponent, I roll a 1d20 and achieve a 3, therefore I miss my target. Declaring a Target: In this method, the player chooses to declare a specific target on their opponent’s body, be this the head, torso or any other part. By choosing to declare they MUST roll the required number or above it to hit their target in the chosen area. If they roll below the required number, they do NOT hit the target anywhere on their body. However, since they chose to narrow their aim to a specific target they receive a +2 modifier to their roll. E.G. I choose to declare my target as the upper torso and fire at my opponent, I roll a 1d20+2 and achieve a 14, therefore I hit my target. E.G. I choose to declare my target as the upper torso and fire at my opponent, I roll a 1d20+2 and achieve a 4, therefore I miss my target. E.G. I choose to declare my target as the head and fire at my opponent, I roll a 1d20+2 and achieve an 8, therefore I miss my target


ROLLS

Natural One: Their weapon or projectile item is temporarily out of order for 3 turns.

2-9: The target is missed.

10-12: The target is hit in the lower abdomen.

13-15: The target is hit on their upper torso.

16: The target is hit in their thigh/wing.

17: The target is hit in their bicep.

18: The target is hit in their foot/hand.

19: The target is hit in their forearm/lower leg.

20+: The target is hit in the creature’s cranium/neck or through their eye. This usually results in a swift death of 2 turns should they not be cared for.



POINT BLANK 

There are some instances wherein which the attacker will have gotten close enough to their target that it is unrealistic for them to miss. This occurs when a player is within 2 blocks of their target.

Shots that are taken at a point blank range can have the target declared in the emote and will be a guaranteed hit. When releasing the projectile, a 1d20 roll must be taken to identify whether the roll will be fatal/damaging or if it will inflict minor damage. Rolls over 15 will be fatal/very damaging and under will only inflict superficial damage. If the target is armoured, rolls over 18 will be considered fatal and very damaging. This is implemented as the lack of distance reduces the damage output but will instead be a guaranteed hit. Also when operating in point blank range, all modifiers are not applied.


COVER You cannot shoot at a spot on one’s body if you cannot see it. If someone’s arm is hidden behind a wall or other form of cover, it cannot be declared to target to shoot for. If the entirety of the body is covered a roll attempt to shoot cannot be made. If someone is using mobile/incomplete cover such as a shield, aiming can be done as per usual, but if the cover is protecting where the projectile will land, it will hit the cover instead. A shield should be declared where it is prior to the projectile being shot.



ARMOUR Plate-equivalent armor offers protection to penetrating shots that would’ve otherwise caused injury on the person. Depending on the material of the armor and projectile being used, a variety of things that can happen. Chestplates will generally block penetrating shots to the stomach and chest by denting the plate or deflecting it. Helmets will generally protect against penetrating headshots and instead of killing the target will instead render them unconscious and dazed.



PROJECTILE MODIFIERS

Sometimes the choice of weapon or location of origin can provide the one aiming the projectile large advantages. The following are listed below:

Crossbow: +2 Declaring a Target: +2 Using a bow/crossbow/magic projectile within 8 meters of the target: +3 Using a javelin/spear/nonstandard projectile within 4 meters of the target: +3 Targets that are stationary, stunned or rooted: +1 Flying: -3



ARTILLERY AND CANNON RULES

If you have a cannons or artillery weapons they follow THESE rules.



PROJECTILE SYSTEM CLARIFICATIONS AND EXAMPLES

When the lowest possible roll occurs, with or without modifiers, it is considered a "Natural One". The results for Natural One are detailed under the Rolls section. For example, if I roll a 1d20 and get a 1, that is a Natural One and achieves the results for Natural One. If I roll a 1d20+5 and roll a 6, that is the lowest possible roll I can get with that modifier and it counts as a Natural One. This achieves the results for Natural One. Inanimate objects require a 10+ when rolling a 1d20 to hit. If the roll of a 1d20 results in a 10 or higher, the inanimate object is hit where aimed. Anything below a 9 results in a miss. Regarding targets such as people who move around, should the person aiming roll OVER what is required in order to hit the target, it commutes down to what they declared as their target. This applies whether a modifier is added to the roll or not. For example, if someone aims for the abdomen and gets a roll of a 19, they will still hit the abdomen and not the forearm/lower leg. If someone rolls a 1d20+5 and rolls a 25 when aiming for the hand, they will hit the hand. Regarding targets such as people who move around, should the person aiming roll UNDER what is required in order to hit the target, the target will be missed entirely and will not be hit anywhere.